Diamond Color Chart: A Comprehensive Guide and Expert Buying Tips

Colour is one of the most familiar Four Cs of diamond grading systems. It is used by most buyers to check the diamond’s quality. Nevertheless, the process of grading diamond colour can be perplexing. You need to familiarize yourself with the right diamond colour chart along with the fluorescence and metal settings of the diamond. Additionally, gain insight into which combinations of colour, clarity, cut, and carat are desirable.

But what is the method for identifying the most appropriate colour? The answer is by using an authorized Diamond colour scale. This is a widely recognized grading scale utilized by diamond merchants, retailers, and experts to classify diamonds according to their colour. The GIA (Gemological Institute of America) colour scale is followed by nearly all grading scales, which rate colour on a scale from D to Z.

What Is The GIA Diamond Color Scale

The colour scale for white or colourless diamonds established by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) ranges from D to Z. Any diamond falling within this range is considered to have a “normal colour range.”

Diamonds without any colour are highly valued, so the lower the grade (yellow or brown), the less valuable the stone. However, diamonds with yellow or brown hues that surpass the Z grade become instantly more expensive as they are considered “fancy” diamonds, along with pink, green, and blue ones, once they have enough saturation to display those colours.

The GIA color chart of D-Z scale is divided into five parts:

Colorless: “D, E, F”

Near Colorless: “G, H, I, J”

Faint: “K, L, M”

Very Light Color: “N, O, P, Q, R”

Light Color: “S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z”

Now let us understand each of these colour categories in detail: 

Colorless (D, E, AND F): 

Diamonds with a “D” grade: These diamonds are colourless and indistinguishable to the naked eye. They are frequently set on platinum or white gold bands, as other mount colours can reflect and diminish the diamond’s colourless effect. These diamonds are the rarest and the most expensive as they are scarcely found in nature, thus carrying a significant price premium compared to other grades of diamonds.

“E” grade diamonds: These diamonds are comparable to D-grade diamonds and can only be distinguished by an expert gemologist under bright lighting and proper magnification. They are also mounted on platinum and white gold bands to maintain the bright colourless appearance of the diamond. 

“F” grade diamonds: These diamonds are also colourless and look similar to D and E-grade diamonds to the naked eye. You need an expert gemologist to distinguish between them. 

Near Colourless (G, H, I, AND J):

The most popular and versatile category for engagement rings is the near-colourless range, consisting of the following four grades of diamonds: G, H, I, and J. 

“G” grade diamonds are the highest grade in this range and appear nearly colourless to the naked eye. They are less expensive as compared to the colourless grade diamonds. These diamonds need to be mounted on platinum or white gold to avoid reflecting the mount colour.

“H” grade diamonds also appear nearly colourless, but they have a slight yellow tinge that is distinguishable only by a gemological expert under appropriate lighting and magnification. They are suitable for bigger cut diamonds such as radiant and cushion cuts and are more affordable than higher grades of diamonds.

“I” grade diamonds are almost colourless and provide good value for money. They have a slight yellow tint visible only under bright light when compared to higher-grade diamonds. These diamonds are suitable for yellow and rose gold, as well as white gold and platinum, and are mostly recommended for the princess cut.

“J” grade diamonds are the most economically feasible and provide excellent value for money. The slight yellow tint is visible only under bright lighting or when compared to a higher-grade diamond. They are recommended for round brilliant cut diamonds or the solitaire setting, as larger round diamonds are great for yellow-tinted diamonds.

Faint Color (K, L, and M):

Diamonds in the K, L, and M grades have a faint yellow tint that can be seen with the naked eye. As a result, they are much more affordable than higher-grade diamonds. These diamonds are often preferred for antique and vintage ring designs.

Very Light Yellow (N-R): 

Diamonds falling in the N to R range have a slightly discernible light-yellow tint to them, which becomes relatively more prominent as the grade moves from N to R. 

Light Yellow (S-Z): 

The diamonds falling in the S, T, and U categories have a noticeable yellowish tint that gradually intensifies from V to Z. These diamonds are the most affordable among all categories, but experts do not recommend purchasing them.

You can visit the official GIA website and see the visual representation of the colour chart diamond.

Which diamond colour suits you best?

While a D-grade diamond is considered the purest, it comes with limitations in terms of design variations and a higher price point. You can opt for a nearly colourless grade (G, H, I, J) of diamonds which offer a similar product at a more affordable price while still accommodating your versatile taste. Ultimately, your personal preference and budget will play a key role in your decision.

Comments are closed.